Feeding habits


•           Different animals eat different types of food.

•           Based on their feeding habits, animals can be classified into:


Herbivorous animals/Herbivores:

•           Animals that eat only plants are called herbivores.

•           Herbivores have teeth adapted to chewing plants.

•           Their big molars are designed to help them grind up leaves, seeds and twigs.

•           They eat seed-pods, grass, leaves and vegetables.


Carnivorous animals/Carnivores:

•           Animals that eat only the flesh of other animals are called carnivores.

•           Carnivores have strong, pointed jaws to snap at their prey and tear off chunks of flesh easily.

•           They are hunters and can only eat once they have caught their prey.

•           Mammals that are carnivores have sharp teeth adapted for ripping meat.

•           Carnivores like the wolf have large, powerful jaws that help bring down large animals like deer.

Figure 9: Carnivores like lion have powerful jaws that help them bring down animals like deer


Omnivorous animals/Omnivores:

•           Animals that eat both plants and animals are called omnivores.

•           Omnivores eat a variety of foods, including meat and vegetables.

•           Baboons, rats, cockroaches and human beings are all examples of omnivores.


Other animals having different feeding habits:

(1)        Snakes swallow their food whole.

(2)        Mosquitoes suck blood from the body of human beings.

(3)        Birds have beaks and claws.

(4)        Elephants have a long trunk to lift their food & put into their mouths.

(5)        Rabbits, rats, squirrel, etc. have sharp front teeth to gnaw seeds and fruits.